Home |  Guide to Shop Car Insurance  |  What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Your State

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Your State?

You can find the minimum auto insurance requirements for your state by visiting your state insurance commissioner’s website. Or you can scroll down to your state and check out the minimum car insurance requirements. Let us remind you once again that driving without insurance is virtually illegal in almost all states. So if you have a vehicle, you have to have insurance.

Here’s the full list of minimum car insurance required by law in different states of America along with exceptions:

Alaska

  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $100,000 bodily injury coverage for every accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for every accident

Alabama

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Arizona

Arizona is among the states that have a special condition when it comes to driving legally, which bounds all drivers to show financial responsibility. Meaning, you don’t have to have insurance, if you are willing to put up a $40,000 bond to prove you can bear the damages resulting from an accident. Of course, buying the minimum car insurance makes more sense for most people than signing up a $40,000 bond, so it’s not unusual for people in Arizona to buy this kind of coverage.

If you reside in Arizona and keen to purchase, then here are the minimum requirements:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Arkansas

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

California

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $5,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Connecticut

  • $20,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $40,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 coverage for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $40,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist

Colorado

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Delaware

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Florida

  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection

Georgia

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Hawaii

  • $20,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $40,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection

Idaho

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Indiana

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Iowa

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability per accident

Illinois

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage for every uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist

Kentucky

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection

Louisiana

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident

Kansas

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist

For personal injury protection, the insurer would pay you $4,500 for rehabilitation, $4,500 in medical expenses, $25 a day for in-home services, up to $900 a month for disability or loss of wages/income, and $2,000 for funeral burial or to meet cremation costs.

Maine

  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $100,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $50,000 coverage for every uninsured motorist
  • $100,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $2,000 for medical payments liability

Massachusetts

  • $20,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $40,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $5,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 coverage for every uninsured motorist
  • $40,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $8,000 for personal injury protection

Maryland

  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Michigan

  • $20,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $40,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

For personal injury protection, Michigan state offers no-fault insurance with mandatory coverages. In terms of property protection insurance (PPI), you can get up to $1 million to cover any damage your car does in Michigan state to other people’s property such as fences and buildings.

$1 million property protection (PPI). PPI pays up to $1 million for damage your vehicle does in Michigan to other people's property, such as buildings and fences.

Minnesota

  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $40,000 for personal injury protection

Mississippi

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Missouri

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 for uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorist

Montana

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Nebraska

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage per person for uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist

New Hampshire

Since auto insurance isn’t mandatory in New Hampshire so there is no minimum auto insurance requirement for the state. That said, state law does require residents to pay for any property damage or bodily injury arising from the operation of a car owned by them. This means even though there is no law forcing the residents to buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, the aforementioned law holds them responsible to pay the damages. Thus, buying a minimum car insurance is not a bad idea because it will protect you and your family in case of an unfortunate event.

Here are the minimum auto insurance limits in New Hampshire if you decide to purchase insurance:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $1,000 for medical payments coverage

Nevada

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

New Mexico

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

New Jersey

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $5,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 for personal injury protection

New York

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $50,000 per person in case of death
  • $100,000 per accident in case of death
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $50,000 to cover personal injury
  • $25,000 coverage for each uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist

North Dakota

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage per uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $30,000 for personal injury protection

North Carolina

  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage for every accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for every accident
  • $30,000 coverage for each uninsured motorist
  • $60,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $25,000 coverage for uninsured motorist property damage

Ohio

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Oregon

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage for each uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $15,000 for personal injury protection

Oklahoma

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Pennsylvania

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $5,000 property damage coverage for every accident
  • $5,000 to cover medical benefits

Rhode Island

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for every accident

South Dakota

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist

South Carolina

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for every accident
  • $25,000 coverage per uninsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $25,000 per uninsured motorist to cover property damage

Texas

  • $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $60,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for every accident

Tennessee

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Utah

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $65,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $15,000 property damage coverage per accident
  • $3,000 to cover personal injury expenses

Vermont

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per accident
  • $50,000 coverage for every uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $100,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $10,000 property damage coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist

Virginia

Virginia is one of the states that has special conditions for car insurance. It doesn’t bound its residents to buy auto insurance, but it requires all drivers to pay for any property damages or injuries resulting from a car accident. Minimum auto insurance is an ideal way to meet this requirement. Here are the Virginia minimums:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Washington

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident

Washington D.C.

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 coverage per uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist
  • $5,000 property damage coverage per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist

Wisconsin

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage for each person
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist

West Virginia

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for each accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 coverage per accident for uninsured motorist
  • $25,000 property damage coverage for uninsured motorist

Wyoming

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident
  • $20,000 property damage coverage for every accident

Customer Testimonials

“I signed up for multiple sites because I had to transfer my lease ASAP. None worked but QuitALease. Thank you, Quitalease.com, for making it easy for me.”

Jennifer 20-07-2016

Customer Testimonials

“Very easy to sign up and use the website and lots of buyers and sellers. Good job!”

Samuel 13-04-2016

Customer Testimonials

“Got exactly the car that I was looking for. Cool Stuff.”

Ryan 11-03-2017